Are you on the list of adulterers?

Is your name on the list of those who were looking to have an extra marital affair?

You may have heard that this week a list of thousands of people, who had paid to seek to have an extra marital affair , was made public. In Canada they created a web site named Ashley Madison, its slogan is “life is too short, have an affair.” Obviously they offered confidentiality to those who signed up, after paying a fee of course.

To dozens of millions of people it seemed attractive and interesting to investigate and actively seek to have an extramarital affair. They also offered to connect people of the same sex to have a sexual encounter.

The only problem is that now a large part of the list of users has been made public. In fact they just published even more users’ names.

Within the list of users there are e-mails of government officials, military personnel and now even a “christian” leader. The list covers people from many nations.

Is your name there?

This makes us give you a very simple but wise warning, “Be very careful!”

Jesus himself said, “For whatever is hidden is meant to be disclosed, and whatever is concealed is meant to be brought out into the open.” Mark 4:22

Maybe you are one of the people who think that those who entered their information on this website are dumb. They never should have expected confidentiality for their data.

I see in all this a small preview of the final judgment that God has promised. Are you ready for that day?

In God’s judgment there is no offer of confidentiality. Let’s see.

Then I saw a great white throne and him who was seated on it. The earth and the heavens fled from his presence, and there was no place for them. And I saw the dead, great and small, standing before the throne, and books were opened. Another book was opened, which is the book of life. The dead were judged according to what they had done as recorded in the books. The sea gave up the dead that were in it, and death and Hades gave up the dead that were in them, and each person was judged according to what they had done. Revelation 20:11-13

God does not need you to go to a web site and sign up for Him to know what you do. No. God has written down in books everything you have done. “Books were opened.” “The dead were judged according to what they had done as recorded in the books.” I think we are still amazed now days when it seems that whatever the circumstances and regardless of the locations there are video cameras or cell phones that record what happened. But God, from the beginning of humanity, has been recording everything that every man has done.

Undoubtedly many, when their name is identified as on this list of users, will begin to give explanations. “I was just curious.” Or “this was only a virtual activity online, I did not have evil intentions.”

On the day of God’s judgment will we be able to “explain” our intentions? Will we have the opportunity to convince God that we really are good people? Let’s see what the Bible says about this.

For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart. Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account. Hebrews 4:12-13

God “judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” God knows not only what you have done, but also what you have thought and desired in your heart. “Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.” On the day of judgment there will not be any lost books or hidden files. God is not going to ask a secretary or an angel to bring the book of your works to Him. No. It is all laid bare before His eyes.

So I would ask you, what is in your heart? What are your most intimate thoughts?

Jesus said, “You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall not commit adultery.’ But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart.” Matthew 5:27-28

This goes way beyond adultery. Jesus also said, “You have heard that it was said to the people long ago, ‘You shall not murder, and anyone who murders will be subject to judgment.’ But I tell you that anyone who is angry with a brother or sister will be subject to judgment. Again, anyone who says to a brother or sister, ‘Raca,’ is answerable to the court. And anyone who says, ‘You fool!’ will be in danger of the fire of hell. Matthew 5:21-22.

My name is not on the list of users of the Ashely Madison web site.

But, I know that there are a lot of things, in the books of my works that God has, that I am ashamed of. There are things there I should not have done. I would be embarrassed if everything written there about me was made known.

Thinking about all this, one day I recognized that I am a sinner. I came to the conclusion that I needed, more than help, a rescue. That is why I came to Jesus and asked Him to forgive all my sins. I recognized that I even deserved death for all that I had done. I understood that Jesus died on the cross for all that I had done. I understood that Jesus died on the cross for my sins. Jesus took the punishment I deserved. I accepted that Jesus died in my place. I ask him forgiveness and I was forgiven.

I recognize that I am still a sinner. When I do or think things that are not pleasing to God, things that are not God’s intention for my life, the Holy Spirit shows me that what I have done, or thought, is bad. I make it a point to ask God to forgive me, I ask him to forgive me and cleanse me.

Now, by the grace of God, my name is on another list. “Another book was opened, which is the book of life.” God has written my name in the book of life. When they read that list, I will have to give many thanks to God for His forgiveness and life that He gave me.

In what lists and books are you written down?

I invite you to straighten out your accounts with God. I ask that God would move your heart so that you come close to Him and obtain forgiveness. Maybe you need to ask Him for forgiveness and turn your life over to Him. Do it.

Maybe you have been forgiven but have thought you could externally have one life while in your thoughts and your heart you sin. Ask God for forgiveness and let Him begin to sanctify your mind.

Let me know if I can be of any help. I would be glad to help you.

Steve

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Are you on the list of adulterers?”

  1. Rosaura C Trueba Says:

    gracias por la ensenanza, Dios bendiga tu servicio, hermano quiero preguntarte si tienes una ensenanza sobre los (por que yo no creo asi, pero me congrego en una iglesia apostolica) los que dicen que tienes que hablar en lenguas como senal de haber recibido el Espiritu Santo, le doy las gracias de antemano hermano.

Leave a Reply

